Is honey a vegan food, or is the fact that bees make it, make it an animal product?
Honey is not technically vegan. It’s a much-debated topic though, enough to warrant a vegan “branch” - I think it’s called “beegan”, where you eat all vegan but also include honey. Personally, I never ate honey before I went vegan - I’m more of a pure maple syrup kind of girl. (Living in the cold North does that to you.) I continue to not eat honey, but that shouldn’t disqualify me from thinking about WHY vegans don’t eat it.
Depending on your reasons for going vegan and your level of strictness in your eating habits, you might have different viewpoints on this subject. I’m going to leave these links here for y’all to read, and if you have a specific opinion please feel free to leave it in our comments section - I want to know how people feel about it!